Some of the music

Standard

While I was doing my training runs for Melissa’s Road Race, I always listened to music. Partially to keep the wind out of my ears, and partially to inspire my feet to keep moving forward. For as long as I can remember in my life, lyrics have motivated and moved me. From belting out my favourite Crossection ballad into my hairbrush in Jr high to writing my own music and poetry, words have woven their stories in my life.

So…here are a couple of the bests from my runs. (the lyrics are incomplete, just my favorite parts of each song)

“Can’t Go Back Now” The Weepies

…You know there will be days
When you’re so tired
That you can’t take another step
The night will have no stars
And you’ll think you’ve gone as far
As you will ever get

You and me wak on, walk on, walk on
‘Cause you can’t go back now…

I can’t really say
Why everybody wishes they were somewhere else
But in the end, the only steps that matter
Are the ones you take all by yourself

“present/infant” Ani Difranco

lately i’ve been glaring into mirrors

picking myself apart

you’d think at my age i’d of thought

of something better to do
than making insecurity into a full-time job
making insecurity into an art

i fear my life will be over
and i will have never lived it unfettered
always glaring into mirrors
mad i don’t look better

but now here’s this tiny baby
and they say she looks just like me
and she is smiling at me
with that present/infant glee
and i would defend
to the ends of the earth
her perfect right to be

so i’m beginning to see some problems
with the ongoing work of my mind
and i’ve got myself a new mantra
it says: “don’t forget to have a good time”
don’t let the sellers of stuff
power enough
to rob you of your grace
love is all over the place
there’s nothing wrong with your face
love is all over the place

“Me” Paula Cole

I am not the person who is singing
I am the silent one inside
I am not the one who laughs at people’s jokes
I just pacify their egos
I am not my house, my car, my songs
They are only just stops along my way
I am like the winter
I’m a dark cold female
With a golden ring of wisdom in my cave

CHORUS:

And it is me who is my enemy
Me who beats me up
Me who makes the monsters
Me who strips my confidence

I am carrying my voice
I am carrying my heart
I am carrying my rhythm
I am carrying my prayers
But you can’t kill my spirit
It’s soaring and it’s strong
Like a mountain
I’ll go on and on
But when my wings are folded
The brightly colored moth
Blends into the dirt into the ground

Chorus

And it’s me who’s too weak
And it’s me who’s too shy
To ask for the thing I love
And it’s me who’s too weak
And it’s me who’s too shy
To ask for the thing I love
That I love (6 times)

I am walking on the bridge
I am over the water
And I’m scared as hell
But I know there’s something better
Yes I know there’s something
Yes I know, I know, yes I know

That I love (5 times overlapping chorus)

But it’s me
And it’s me
But it’s me (4 times)

One response »

Leave a Reply

