You can take the girl out of the city

Standard

So I consider myself a small city kind of girl. I like theater and live music, a bit of traffic at the farmer’s market adds to the buzz, and I love city lights at night. I hate the traffic and the smog though, and the thought of living in a city like Edmonton or Calgary again makes me want to poke myself in the eye.

But we live in Edson. Which is allright, most of the time. I mean, there are no lines at the grocery store, and you can get anywhere in town in less than 8 minutes. Small town living, it’s good.

But then once in awhile, there are some weird things that happen that remind me that I am still a city girl at heart. When someone stopped me on the street a week after we’d moved here and said “You’re the new pastor’s wife and you live in that yellow house.”

Or when, as last night, I find out that one of our major fundraisers for Jr. Forest Warden’s is THE MEAT DRAW. Am I the only person who has never heard of this? The way it works is, you go down to the legion on Wed or Saturday night, and you buy a ticket. You sit around drinking until the draw. If they draw your ticket, you win.

A cooler full of meat.

It just seems so very strange to me. Sean tells me they had them where he was growing up to.

Yup. City girl.

4 responses »

  1. Maybe this means I am city boy who enjoys innuendo… but “A MEAT DRAW” sounds like the kind of thing you shouldn’t be able to say with straight face…

    And a cooler full of meat sounds like a prize at a bachelorette party…

Leave a Reply

