Music

Standard

Music is powerful, an outlet for all the emotions of the human experience. I have recently rediscovered this piece of my life, after a 7 year hiatus. I have started playing piano again, if only for an hour a week while I wait for India to finish with her Sparks group, and I can’t believe the feeling of wellbeing that floods my body as I play. Songs that I haven’t played in years are living in my body, ready to come out when my fingers touch the keys.

Music holds memory, the power to sweep one into the past, and equally to draw one into the future, to what might be. My friend Gretchen, who is a Lutheran pastor and musician in Seattle, and who has recently been instrumental in opening a coffee shop/music house/ church project recommended this band to us, Mumford and Sons. We have been listening to it nonstop since buying it on itunes.

Serve God love me and men

This is not the end
Lived unbruised we are friends
And I’m sorry
I’m sorry 

Sigh no more, no more
One certainty, one unsure
My heart was never pure
And you know me
And you know me

And man is a giddy thing
Oh man is a giddy thing
Oh man is a giddy thing
Oh man is a giddy thing

Love that will not betray you, dismay or enslave you,
It will set you free
Be more like the man you were made to be.
There is a design,
An alignment to cry,
At my heart you see,
The beauty of love as it was made to be (x4)

 

One response »

  1. I love mumford and sons and this is one of my favorite songs. Glad to hear you’re getting a chance to play I miss having a piano so I can understand the joy of sitting down and rediscovering what hides inside. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

